Tuesday, June 07, 2022

Renaissance Popes: A Study in Reform (Index Post)

 I knew that reform was going to be a big theme going into the series, but as it went on it became clear that it was in a sense the only theme -- the entire Renaissance, whether conciliarist or papalist or Protestant, was obsessed with the idea. Thus I've subtitled the whole series, 'A Study in Reform'.

At some point in the series I got off-count with the number of popes, so I've corrected that here.


1. Martinus V (1417-1431)

2. Eugenius IV (1431-1447)

3. Nicholaus V (1447-1455)

4. Callixtus III (1455-1458)

5. Pius II (1458-1464)

6. Paulus II (1464-1471)

7. Sixtus IV (1471-1484)

8. Innocentius VIII (1484-1492)

9. Alexander VI (1492-1503)

10. Pius III (1503)

11. Iulius II (1503-1513)

12. Leo X (1513-1521) [Part I]

Leo X [Part II]

13. Hadrianus VI (1522-1523)

14. Clemens VII (1523-1534) [Part I]

Clemens VII [Part II]

15. Paulus III (1534-1549)

16. Iulius III (1550-1555)

17. Marcellus II (1555)

18. Paulus IV (1555-1559)

19. Pius IV (1559-1565)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please understand that this weblog runs on a third-party comment system, not on Blogger's comment system. If you have come by way of a mobile device and can see this message, you may have landed on the Blogger comment page, or the third party commenting system has not yet completely loaded; your comments will only be shown on this page and not on the page most people will see, and it is much more likely that your comment will be missed.