Saturday, April 07, 2007

Via Crucis

The traditional Stations of the Cross are:

1. Jesus is condemned to death
2. Jesus receives the Cross
3. Jesus falls the first time
4. Jesus meets His Mother
5. Simon of Cyrene carries the Cross
6. Veronica wipes Jesus' face with her veil
7. Jesus falls the second time
8. Jesus meets the Women of Jerusalem
9. Jesus falls the third time
10. Jesus is stripped of His garments
11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross
12. Jesus dies on the Cross
13. Jesus' body is removed from the Cross
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

In 1991 John Paul II started using an alternative Stations of the Cross:

1. Jesus in Gethsemane
2. Jesus is betrayed and arrested
3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin
4. Jesus is denied by Peter
5. Jesus is judged by Pilate
6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with Thorns
7. Jesus bears the Cross
8. Simon helps Jesus carry His Cross
9. Jesus meets the Women of Jerusalem
10. Jesus is crucified
11. Jesus promises Paradise to the Good Thief
12. Jesus speaks to His Mother and His Disciple
13. Jesus dies
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

But, as Amy Welborn points out, some reporters are a little slow on the uptake.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please understand that this weblog runs on a third-party comment system, not on Blogger's comment system. If you have come by way of a mobile device and can see this message, you may have landed on the Blogger comment page, or the third party commenting system has not yet completely loaded; your comments will only be shown on this page and not on the page most people will see, and it is much more likely that your comment will be missed.